Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

The Joys of Childhood Sledding... (2009-01-13 - 6:03 a.m.)

I won't write about how cold it is here today and for the next 5 or 6 days. I just want to say, I am already cold and will be colder. The highlight of the day will be, how many layers can I layer without looking odd and walking funny. Remember when we all were kids, and our moms would help dress us to go outside to play in the snow. Yupe, could hardly move and walk, and god forbid if we had to go potty. If I recall correctly, sledding was always a challenge being all bundled up as a kid. I lived near Power's Hill as a kid, so you know my sister and I did alot of sledding. I do recall sometimes when trying to climb the hill with my sled falling down and rolling down the hill. I was a human tumbleweed in the snow. I also lovingly recall always, we all were, wiping our noses on your mittens. I had bright fire engine red mittens that my grandma knit for us. I had red and my sister had blue. Now how did my grandma know that as adults, I would love reds, and my sister is into blues, especially the blues that match her eye color. That grandma, she saw the future. I regress here. Back to fun on the hills. When we didn't want to drag our sleds up the hill, we brought along a cardboard box. Now that was fun, it went down the hill like a rocket. When we were all sledded out, we would walk home, no rides or being picked up necessary. My sister and I knew that after we got all the clothes off there would be hot choloate with marshmallows for us to help us thaw out. That mom, thank you mom for that wonderful memory. Sledding takes me back to some fond memories. Do kids still go sledding these days, or is that long gone?

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville