Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
eatmorepizza
dietcokegirl
musikoid
aryssa90
murder
swordfern
cherrygash
hitch-hike
tomatogirl
glorycloud
whystinger
i-am-jack
dangerspouse
nineofswords
jarofporter
life-my-way
linguafranca
thruthecrowd
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
misfitstray
whyme63
curious-me
cocoabean

Life in the Not So Much Fast Lane..... (2019-07-30 - 5:20 a.m.)

So yesterday I finally showered and washed my hair. I was done by 7:30 am, so I have to count yesterday as day one. I also gave myself a pass on writing a letter out to my folks until today. I sat yesterday with the card and pen, and couldn't think of a damn thing to write about. I know how they enjoy getting mail. I would love to get a letter weekly from my son, which by the way, will never happen. I don't get a lot of mail, hence the reason we went to getting our mail delivered only two days a week. I will ask once the snow and Winter is here to only get the mail dropped off here once a week. Our mail carrier likes that a lot. There is only 4 houses that get mail delivered back here in the sticks, so one of the those 4 chooses, us, to not get mail delivery every day, is like getting a gift. She will text me to ask after a snowstorm, if the snowplow guy has been through. He does this road back here sometimes a day or two after a huge snowstorm. We are on Island time here, everything is chill and laid back. Tasks get done, enjoy the outdoors, get Zen, sit a spell, become with Mother Nature. which reminds me, I watched a doe yesterday, wander around the edge for about an hour, eating wild blueberries. So when my husband got up for the day, I asked him, did he know that there were wild blueberries over there. He said yup. Been a huge patch there for years. He decided that he wasn't going to mow over there this year. Now there is more for the deer and critters to eat. Deer really, really like the young maple saplings also.

Had to take the doggies out to poop. So I am back in the house now. Malcolm is having another round of his gurgly guts thing going on. So that is tough on him. He doesn't eat when this is going on. Poor little guy. With Sadie now we have to be on alert, when she has to go poop, she has to get outside as quickly for her as she can. It is tough growing old. In August she will have her 15th birthday. For a Boston Terrier that is old. I can't imagine being 105 years old and still here. Her personality and spirit are still going strong, she is eating and drinking water, so we just do everything very slowly. Life on the Island is slow, maybe aging slows down too, whose to say. I have been told that I don't look 63 years old. Maybe it is from living the life I do here on the Island. Time passes, your looks and how you feel don't. We are lucky and appreciative of this.

This week, at least for the next 7 days, the weather people are telling us that there will be no rain. So that means 30 minutes of watering the flower garden that I have left. The middle section of the front garden is gone from the part of the pine tree that fell on it. It could have been worse. I will keep watering it, and decide what bulbs to plant in the open section in the Fall. I tend to plant colors that attract the hummers and butterflies. So a lot of reds and oranges, though I am thinking that deep dark purples might be nice. Two of the three burning bushes made it through. There are many hostas that didn't make it. I will plant more hostas next Spring. Other than that, you can't be too upset, because Mother Nature does her thing.

I have to get started now, on my letter to my folks. I don't expect them to send out a letter to us anymore. I tried having a pen pal or two, yet people just don't seem to have time in their busy day to day lives to write. Writing letters is something of the past, which makes me sad. I wish someone would write to me on a regular basis, I would write back. I like to write. Peace.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville