Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
chakra-nadi
in19seconds
aryssa90
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
hitch-hike
tomatogirl
i-am-jack
whystinger
college-kid
dangerspouse
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
life-my-way
linguafranca
thruthecrowd
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
misfitstray
whyme63
cocoabean
curious-me

Less Cooking... (2019-01-26 - 1:25 p.m.)

Someone mentioned about how the heck one deals with how cold it is here, especially this 10 day stretch we are in, plus the snow storm that is revving up for Sunday night into Monday. Snow fall said to be up to 10 inches. I may get to roof rake yet. I do like to roof rake, weird, I know, I just like that task. The thing about this snow storm, the winds will be 35 mph the weather people are saying plus you know, the wind gusts. Randy i s off until Monday night, so that will be two of us dealing with the snow whenever he gets up and moving on Monday. Oh, back to how the heck I deal with the frigid temps. I am up to three layers of pants now, then a turtle neck shirt, a hoodie, wrap a double fleece scarf around my neck and lower head, then a waterproof jacket that reaching my knees. I wear two pairs of socks, one is wool, then Winter waterproof mocs from Merrell, I strap on waterproof gators that go up to my knees and cover my boots. If it is or seems icy on the surface out there, I put my yaktraks on the bottoms of my winter mocs. It takes me close to 10 minutes to gear up to go outside.

I keep track on paper when I take the dogs out, who pooped when, so then I can figure out the next time we will have to go out. I really try to limit their time out in the cold. Sadie is quick, now there are times she has to be lifted up the three steps to the deck. Her little paw paws get too cold too fast. Malcolm takes way too much time out there. So I have to stay close, because he freezes in place lifting his one front paw. It is ok. I look at the clock when we go out, I don't want them to be out there for more than 5 minutes.

Randy bought extra cracked corn for the critters for this firigid stretch to help them out, energy wise. The blue jays especially like the cracked corn. We have to refill 3 black sunflower feeders, and the 5 suet feeders every other day right now. Two of the suet feeders are double block suet feeders, and I have a suet feeder that holds 9 ball suets. I put pepper suet in there, it keeps the squirrels from eating that. So the birds and critters are doing alright. One of the first areas we shovel is around the bird/critter feeding areas, so that the birds who are the ground feeders can find the food. I also keep the deck and steps clear of snow for the dogs.

What else is happening? I finished my book I was reading yesterday at 12:20 pm. I haven't picked out my next read.

Randy and I were talking about food and cooking. I have been cooking for him now for 25 years, this is what he told me. I have decided that once he is done eating up everything I have cooked for him in the fridge. There is a huge kettle of the requested chili in the fridge. He makes comments like, there is enough for an army, and other types of comments. So I have decided to take a two month vacation off from cooking any foods for him. That will be 62 days. It will start when the food I have made and he has finished eating it all. Oh, he just voiced this comment, oh, that will take about a month. Gotta love him. So my challenge to him is, let's seek you cook for yourself. I challenge myself to give up control and/or taking over in the kitchen. He says I can't do that, that I will cave in. Challenge is on. I know he can cook, and he can take care of himself. I do the cooking just because I love him, and it just makes his life in general so much easier for him. So wish me luck. I will still be cooking my baked chicken and carrots, with occasional rice or noodles.

OK I have to stop now, Randy needs a hair trim. He just checked at the Great Clips app. and there is a 109 minute wait. Hey I can give him a trim. Peace.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville