Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Sunday...... (2013-11-17 - 3:58 a.m.)

Had some really loud thunder boomers going on last night. Little Malcolm quickly zoomed up to my neck area last night. I was still awake watching TV and of course the TV looses the signal for awhile, making you hear the rain and thunder boomers even more. Sadie just keeps sleeping, as her little boyfriend Malcolm huggles to me. Right now, the fog is so thick and it is calm outside. I can hear the water rushing through the damn gates, releasing the water. I thought the channel was very high last night. When it rains a lot I check for myself by shining a light on the channel. If I can see that on the other side of the channel it looks like you can just walk level onto the other side I know that the water level is high. So then I check the site I have for flood stage/watch. There was an alert on my phone. So it goes. Since we flooded here in Sept. 2010, I am more aware. When it flooded then, we did try to get off the Island. When we neared the land bridge, there was water gushing over it. So we went back and started to get ready with the extra pumps and did what we could do. Brought the little boat over to the deck and attached it. Got the dogs and cat crate ready. Put the ladder in the ready up on the second level deck to go up on the roof if it got that bad. So I have great respect of water and what it can do even more so than I did after Sept. 2010. Our new basement flooded and you really have only 24 hours to clean it out and bleach it all out. I remember the sheriff going by in a boat, calling out using a bull horn, checking on the Island folks. My one neighbor came around video taping everything.

More rain is predicted here again today, but for now, there is no rain, and it is calm. I feel for the folks in the states to the South and East. There are tornadoes up to level 7 possible. With the temps in the 40's yet, which is really odd, the rain is still soaking into the ground. Though by next weekend they are talking snow just in time for Saturday's open deer hunting season here. The deer hunting season is a week later this year because Thanksgiving being a week later. I know for a fact that after just a couple of hours of opening deer hunting season starting that I have heard deer snorting in the woods when I walk the dogs. Those are the smart ones. Come over here, and bed down during the day. One year a few years ago, across the road and in the denser woods across to the South of us, a mother deer raised her twin fawns through the Spring and Summer of 2008.

Enough remembering, but you know, a lot of rain does that to me. I have pretty much given up the idea that I am going to get more raking done. I did rerake for I think the 6th time the area that the dogs use at nighttime between the garage and the front of the house. The leaves and needles just seem to collect in the corners of the house and deck. So I rake and rake again. Since I shovel snow there all Winter I try and get those leaves and needles clear. When I snowblow I don't want the leaves and pine needles clogging the snowshoot on me. That is a miss. It is tough to use the snowplow attached to the 4 wheeler right there. I still need to get my new snow glide put together. I have my snow roof rakes ready. My sand bucket is up on the front deck. I have used the sand already on the deck.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville