Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Wow....Is All I Can Say (2010-09-25 - 7:12 a.m.)

Wow...is all I can say here. I wrote two days ago and I mentioned that it was going to rain on Thursday here in central Wisconsin. We got 6 inches plus in less than 24 hours. We got stranded here on the Island for over 15 hours. Thank heavens actually we were here, because we started pumping out the new basement. It was flooding. We woke up sometime around 3 am on Friday morning to the water alarm, my hushand had been up a few minutes sooner than me because he was hearing the sump pump kicking in way toooooo often in the old basement. Then we hurried up and dressed because we could hear running water. Oh yes, the channel had risen over the backyard bank and was creeping towards the back patio. So we loaded up the pets, and us and like I said, tried to get off the Island. Nope couldn't do it, the land bridge and beyond was water covered. All the three other neighbors lights were on, the guy across the channel where you go around to go down a bit, to go under the bridge into the lake, we were told later was up at 12:30 am because of water in their basement. The neighbor two houses down, had 2 feet plus in their basement, they had meat floating around from their freezer. So back to us here, that is all we did was pump water and hope that the power didn't go off. We don't have a gas generator. We did this all Friday. We stopped oh I guess around 7:15 pm last night. We were wet vaccumming also. We got all the rugs out, they are trash. Don't want to deal with bacteria and mold from that. We have two large fans going down there all night and they still are going. My hushand is still asleep, which he needs. We are both tuckered out. It could have been worse. If you live in Wisconsin, Pittsville was on the news. One of my co-workers family had to evacuate their home. I have never been in something like this in my life. My hushand says he remembers 1992 back here, though it took 4 days to flood, so we can now remember the flood of Sept. 23/24, 2010 here in Wisconsin. Then on Friday the winds kicked in super bad. Good for drying out, but I was a bit worried about ground saturation and a big tree falling over. So far so good. We were just glad we came home on Wednesday from Minnesota. If we would have come home on Thursday, it would have been late. So we had a small amount of rest for part of Thursday then the rains started. My mom said the roads would have been awful driving on Thursday with so many closures around us here. Most schools were closed on Friday. Who would have thought flooding in the Fall. So today we will be wet vaccumming some more, still running fans, and getting through some cardboard boxes, oh yes, we will be throwing stuff away. I did have most of my yarns in huge tubs down there. Like I wrote before, it could have been a heck of alot worse. My husband was worse off than me, emotionally. I figure, nothing you could have done, just clean up now and go on. Glad we have this weekend to work some more, so much for a restful and uneventful weekend. What more can I write, nothing now. I just need to go and get dressed again to start working some more. Oh I know what else I can write, the sun is out, shining brightly and all aglow in gold through the trees. It is just beautiful!!

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville