Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

What Is It? (2009-12-19 - 11:24 a.m.)

It all began last night around 8ish. My dog, Sadie, all of a sudden had hive-like welts all over her body. We called the page service for her vet, and he told us to give her 25 mg of Benadryl. We don't know what or how it happened. She hasn't eaten anything different. When she walks she is always in front of us on her lead, it is Malcolm who walks behind and snifs everything. She and Malcolm are always watched when they go outside. So for now it is a mystery. So we thought it was doing better than all of a sudden this morning around 7 am or so she started to get bumpy again. We called the vet and had an 8:40 am appointment. They gave her a dipenhydramine/Benadryl injection in her muscle and a Dex Sodium Phos inj. and sent us home with 8 Prednisone tabs which is a doggie steroid and an antiboditic called Cefpodoxime(Simplicef) which we split and half and give it to her until it is gone. The Prednisone, one tablet a day for the next three days, then one every other day until gone, so the vet is tapering it off. She had her rabies, lyme, Dhlppc vaccine boosters a week ago Thursday, plus she had another yeast infection in her ear, which we were doing drops in twice a day. So who knows if it is a combination of the drops that built up a severe allergic reaction. We stopped using them yesterday pm dose. So Sadie and the rest of us sure didn't sleep well yesterday. My husband said that the allergy goes from inside out and that the word is systemic, Sadie was having to tinkle alot and we knew that her bladder and urinary tract was hurting. She just wouldn't settle down. It was like she was trying to crawl out of her skin. I relate it to when I am having a VVR(vaso vagal reaction) and I just want to be apart from my body as it works it way out of my system. I know that I use meditation to help me get through it. For Sadie I just held her close by me throughout the night.

Already, we are keeping our fingers crossed, the redness and bumps are diminishing from her tummy area and on her head and muzzle. She still has a few on her back. The vet said to give her a baking soda bath. I probably will. Last night I used cold washcloths to rub over her which I hoped helped her some. We all need some rest now.
Here is a picture of Sadie, from this summer, doing what she loves to do... Sadie on the 4th

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville