Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Just a Loving Memory.... (2009-09-13 - 9:46 a.m.)

I tried to transfer a photo from my photobucket album here a little while ago and it didn't work, so I am just going to write a little something, something. I am going to reminisce here about my childhood. When I was growing up and we went from Grand Rapids to Bemidji alot to see my mom's parents. They lived outside of Bemidji really close to Lake Bemidji. When my grandparents were just married in fact they lived in a rustic cabin on Lake Bemidji, then apparently my grandpa wanted more space and land so they bought in the woods. My grandpa was very interesting to me as I was growing up. He kept adding on to their house, these little rooms, they were all connected. Their house wasn't messy, it just sure had alot of things in these rooms. My grandpa collected tools, and more tools. My grandma liked to store yarn and embroidery making supplies. She made lace, to this day I wish I had paid attention when she was trying to teach me. She taught me how to knit. She was always making everyone, especially my grandpa, Norweigan red mittens. Red, I will call it Christmas red mittens for my grandpa. They were something together. Now this is the wow part to me when I look back at their life of love together. At 9:30am and 3:30pm every day whether they were together at home or away from one another, it was time for coffee for grandpa and tea for grandma. They stopped doing whatever and had a break with each other. When we were there, she set the place for us also. I grew to just love this time of each day. We had something sweet along with our tea. I always got tea, grams thought that coffee would stunt our growth. My grandpa didn't really have alot of teeth, due to the fact, over the years I am sure, he would place two sugar cubes in between his gums and drink his coffee through that. Grams did most of the chatting, while my grandpa would nod and just watch her chatting away. I so wonder now how that tradition began. My grandpa also ate candy all the time, his favorites were those round pink with XXX on them, I think wintergreen candies. He also liked the licorce mix the old fashioned ones. They also always had something sweet after each meal. I always new that we would drive into Bemidji and go to the Dairy Queen that was by the lake. When you got your DQ we went across the road, was it highway 2, and sat or walked along the shoreline of Lake Bemidji. That was way before Lake Bemidji and Bemidji got big. I think it was 1960 through 1970 or so. When we would go to Lake Bemidji's beach to swim and then have a picnic, we would always end up at the DQ for a treat. My grandma always got a chocolate malt, my grandpa always got a huge hot fudge sundae, my dad got a vanilla cone, my mom got a root beer float or a butterscotch sundae, my sister and I usually got a medium sized vanilla cone. Too this day, my sister stops all the time at DQ's. Those times bring back such smiley memories of good times to me. Now zoom to present day, my mom and dad stop and have their morning and afternoon coffee breaks together, sometimes they take the pm break together on their front lakeside deck. Their deck spans the whole front of the lake, so they can move to where the sun is. They live on Lake P. So our past soooooooooooo influences our present. I just love it.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville