Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

What Is Out There In the Night.... (2008-11-13 - 6:01 a.m.)

I am most definitely up way tooooooo early this morning. I was awake at 3:43 am, I got up to go to the bathroom and went back to bed and just laid there. Soon enough Idamay jumps up and lays on my chest, and purrs. So there we are, Idamay and I, the two who are awake. I listen to my husband, almost snoring, and I hear the dogs breathing under the covers. Boston Terriers must sleep with their mouths open a tiny bit, because I hear Sadie breathing alot while she is sleeping. It has to be the shorter nose on them. So there we are, Idamay and I, just being there. I finally got up closer to 4:45 am and the dogs got up and I put them out. How exciting, I know, so very exciting. I turn on three outside lights. The light on the shed, the runway lights I call them, you know those little ones, put in 4 feet apart or so, along the edge of our yard, and then the deck light. It still doesn't make it very bright out there. I don't like the dark shadow part between the shed and the back of the garage. There is a huge pine tree that is between them, yes we built with consideration to the gigantic pine trees. Then between the corner of the house and shed it is very shadowy. Sadie and Malcolm don't go over towards those areas. One time, there was a large animal that went through the shadow place I call it, as I clicked on the shed light. It looked like a huge animal. So I turned on the other lights and I knew the dogs needed to get out, so I went and got one of our guns. Hey don't get mad at me. I live in the wilderness, and there are bobcats here and wolves, besides the bears, raccoons, wild turkeys, and deer that roam. Bears often bend the bird feeders over, or drag them to the middle of the road, yupe, it is interesting around here. Sometimes when I drive into our yard, the men from around here may be all leaning over, examining something, and it is usually some animal track or something. One will go and get the other. I have seen them huddled at times in the different yards. We all need to know what is out there. We have to keep our pets safe. Back to I went and got one of our guns. I put on my shoes, hooked up Sadie, Malcolm runs loose and then let them out. I took the gun with the safety on of course, and stepped out onto the deck. The dogs don't bark when I say listen, they stop and listen, and sure enough we heard running through the trees, those two zoomed up by me on the deck so fast, we were so startled, it was a big bobcat that zoomed through. Jesus christ I was so glad I didn't tinkle. We were lucky. Eventually they both left the deck to do there business, but that morning, still dark out, they tinkled and pooped, I swear not more than a foot from the deck. I went off the deck about two feet. The hairs on my neck and body didn't relax for awhile. All you hear is the pounding of your pulse in your head. Oh living in the woods, you never know what is out there. It hasn't been the first time, and won't be the last. So that is how it is, when I have to put the dogs out in the night or when it is dark outside here. They tend to be very quick and alert. That is about it here. Pet talk. We don't have street lights here in the woods, and the moon shining is the most light we get, unless you turn on an outside light.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville