Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Passion & Work... (2007-10-11 - 6:34 a.m.)

So another day dawns...it is just starting to lighten up outside as I write this. I looked at the calendar to see when we Fall back our clocks. It isn't until the first Saturday night in November. That seems a little extreme and late for that. I feel for the families that have children getting ready for school and waiting in the dark for their bus ride. Not a good situation for safety if you ask me. I am so glad that I don't have to deal with that anymore. Now it is just adult things, ok, who really thinks a 23 year is totally an adult. I see, no one raised their hand. To think when I was his age I was teaching high school children. I was a special education and LD teacher for 16 fucking years. They were so fucking long and hard. I have so many degrees, and a master's, yet I gave them up because of wanting to stay sane and find some happiness and joy in my life. To this day, I am so fucking glad I stopped teaching. I know my parents still after the 15 years working for our county, haven't fully understood why I gave up all that I had and was earning as a teacher. A person has to be happy and joyful with who they are in life, and if you have to change everything, so be it. You have to seek out what you need in life for yourself sometimes. I have no regrets after all these years moving on from what I went to college for.

My sister is still out working for another week in San Fransico. My sister used to work for Rockwell International as a civilian. She is a mathmatican. She programmed Minutemen and MX missles for the government. She quit after a few years of doing that, because the men in her department were getting promotions over the qualified women. So she started her own consulting business. She is four years younger than me, and she could have retired a couple of years ago if she wanted to. I find that so amazing. She loves math. My parents found out about her math skills, when I was in junior high, and I needed help with my alegbra. My mom was making dinner and I remember my dad, just got home from work and was doing whatever. My sister and I were at the table, I couldn't figure out my alegbra. I was going to stop(I earned a D by the way in the class). My sister said can I look at the problem. My sister remember was in 4th grade when I was in 8th grade. I pointed to the problem I couldn't get. She got out some paper and looked at it for a small bit, and guess what....the rest is math history on her part. So needless to say, my sister is still just my sister, and she loves her job still and what she does. I believe that everyone should find a passion in their work.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville