Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

My Mother's Phone Call....Forget It.... (2007-08-13 - 6:31 a.m.)

So the weekend is over and done. My parents called in the early evening before my husband went to work. He got to talk with first my dad, then my mother. Then it was my turn. My mother wasn't in the best mood, I don't know why they bother than to call here. Last Thursday she swallowed her temporary cap. She did this after about 4 times I think she said, when it fell off. She would rinse it out and put it back on. So she called her dentist and the permanent one should be in on Tuesday. She said she would call first before going because her dentist is in the town that my dad and her were in when my dad retired as a superindent of schools. Anyway, my mom just seemed a bit cranky, now she would say I was by the time our conversation was over. They are watching Big Brother 8 also so we talked a bit about that and the weather of North for a bit. Then like usual she moves on about the topic of: "well have you heard from your son?" I said no, I haven't heard a thing in awhile. I know he has a trac phone now, but that doesn't mean he has the cash to put more minutes on it. I know he had to go the trac phone route because he can't afford to pay his cell phone bill. I said to my mother that he knows our phone number and that he can call collect if and when he wants to. Then she went on to say that they wonder if he is going to school(on-line) yet? Then moving quickly on to the topic of: "I hope he hasn't sold the laptop computer you bought him awhile back to go to school." This topic is old to me. Once I give my son something, it is out of my hands and it is his. If and when, and if he does sell it for cash, there is no way that I can do anything about it. This bothers my parents, and apparently my mother to no end. She constantly revisits this topic. I say let it drop. My mother can really make me annoyed about her comments when it relates to my son. I am no longer responsible for him and his decisions. What he chooses to do in life are of his own choosing. OK back to my mother, it came to me that my mother always seemed to have stipulations with anything large that she gave to me, or maybe being raised by them, I feel guilty if I did anything wrong or if I made a bad decision. I can no longer live that life of trying to appease them. I guess I learned that a number of years ago. It is still hard though to know that when they gave me something that it came with strings attached. There was and is an underlying message there of doing the right thing and being responsible. So with that said, I do think that my mother was cranky, I don't want to let her off the hook on that one, and then damnit I allowed her to make me a bit cranky. I got over it, but it just annoyed yesterday.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville