Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Sump Pumps..... (2018-01-09 - 5:51 p.m.)

I do believe I am ready now, and have completed all the outdoors and indoor tasks for the rain we will have on Thursday, most of the daylight hours. I started on Sunday, remember doing the roof raking, all that I could. I shoveled as much as I could move away from the house. I put new batteries in all of the water alarms. I looked in the new basement for any items that could be lifted up. I have the indoor/outdoor vac in the basement. The pump is already in the basement. All the birders feeders and suet feeders are all filled. I will check again tomorrow afternoon. I am hoping that there won't be a water flood issue. Since Sunday the outdoor temps have been getting warmer. Thursday it is supposed to be in the 40's here. There is still snow and ice on the channel. The Yellow River flows North to South, the Yellow River flows thru Dexter Lake here, and our channel around the Island flows into Dexter Lake and over there by the damn. On Thursday pm the temps will drop again freezing everything. My husband has to work both Wednesday and Thursday night, so if there is a water issue, it is all me doing the work.

Remember just a few days ago, we had a run of 14 days of below freezing. Our one pipe froze and we have a place to disengage a section and it shoots out from the sump pump on the south side of the house. The sump pump keep running, so I knew what had happened. I took my large flashlight out with me and disengaged that section and it fixed itself. I got totally wet, but I fixed it myself. Now I am tired of hearing about sump pumps because last night my neighbors brother to the North messaged, asking for help. His sump pump was running and wouldn't stop and he had water in the basement. I was already in bed. Sawyer's brother is only 20 years old and I think he said Sawyer was up in Canada. I really wasn't listening because I was getting up and dressed and thinking what I needed to take over there to help him up. I texted him back saying come over and help me bring over the pump and indoor/outdoor vaccum. He was over before I stepped out the door. He was only wearing his basketball shorts, a t-shirt and shoes. Poor guy. We hauled the equipment over there. I told him to go change into some grubby clothes and put on his waterproof hunting boots. I had brought over my waterproof boots. Thank god he had a couple of large floor fans. I told him that it may look bad for now, but that it will be ok. I said I will stay until we fix it. He asked if I thought he should text his brother. I said no because there was nothing that he could do being so far away. I said I will show him what to do and again said it would be alright. It took a good couple of hours. I also asked him to set his alarm to check at least once during the night. I also said I would come over during the day to check on their basement. He kept saying to me, thank you so much Sue. I also didn't have the heart to tell him about the rain expected to come on Thursday. That is another day. Needless to say, I was a bit tired, so tonight will be an early night.

I don't have much else going on. I should have showered and washed my hair today, that didn't happen, maybe tomorrow. Peace Out.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville