Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Oak Leaves...... (2014-01-03 - 12:25 p.m.)

Watching the strong winds blow the remaining oak leaves from their trees.

Not doing too much else. Went out to get the mail, all bundled up, that was enough of an adventure.

The governor of Minnesota called for all school districts to be closed on Monday because of the frigid temperatures. I wonder if the governor of Wisconsin will be as smart.

My dad, who is now retired, was a school superintendent. In his school district if the temps with wind chill were a certain number, the children in grades 3 and below were excused from school. Safety first. My dad promised his school district a new k-12 facility before he retired. After many years of trying to get the referendum to pass it did. They have a pool and an indoor theater also. They community named this theater in my dad's name. So I am sure my dad is glad to hear what the governor of Minnesota did.

I have come from a very highly educated family. My dad has a doctorate. I remember as a kid folding and putting his dissertation question surveys into envelopes to mail out. My mom was an ICU nurse than became one of the first nurse practioner in Minnesota. She then became an industrial nurse in a big name northern Minnesota papermill. My sister excels in math. One of her job choices was to become a civilian who worked for the government. Her pod programmed minutemen missiles and another missile type. When the government overlooked her civilian pod of people and promoted army people, she and others began looking for other jobs. These people who were passed over filed a class action suit against the government. Anyhoo, my sister now teaches computer programming all over the USA. Before 911 she went all over the world. She is 5 years younger than me and could have retired about 8 years ago but decided she was just too young. I am very proud of my parents and sister. My sister isn't very good at people relationships, I hardly hear from her.

Then there is me. I didn't go as far as I am sure they(my parents) wanted me to. I have a vocational rehabilation degree. I have a special education life teaching license. I have a degree in learning disabilities for secondary. When I decided to move across the pay scale I decided to go and get my Master's. It is called MEPD, which is Master's Educational Professional Development. My work focused on job skill training and career education. Oh, I also became a DVI, which is a Designate Vocational Instructor, which allowed me to go into the high school vocational education classes and team teach with the voc educ teachers. I loved that. I really liked to weld and work on the cars. The students I worked with and others saw me in a whole new light. So it was a tough decision when I decided to quit teaching to move in with who would become husband #3. I know that my parents were disappointed in me. I don't know after all these years if they are yet. They hid it well. Finding a job with the county then working in a pre voc program for the mentally ill and mentally challenged adults was a good fit for me. I was a lot happier working for the county then working as a teacher. Now I am retired, glad to be retired.

So back to watching the oak leaves fall from their tree branches. Spring is getting closer because the oak leaves have to fall first.

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville