Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

Sharing, Caring, & all the Fine Stuff.... (2010-12-10 - 4:51 a.m.)

I just got done reading some of the people's enteries who I read on my buddy list. Something hit home to me that I read. I don't do Christmas. I don't decorate. I don't bake. I basically don't go to any Christmas parties. I will send out a few Christmas cards and I do mean the kind things I write in them. I do send gift cards to people I want to. In the past, I have given to co-workers little gift bags of Christmas goodies, and I want to do this. I would rather give a little something to someone than get something from them. I don't need anymore stuff. You then have to send out thank yous, which I do very well. Thank you mom and dad for raising me with great manners. Always acknowledge the giver with thanks. Part of the reason why I don't do Christmas is because my husband usually works all the holidays. I used to pretty much do all the set up and decorating. It became a chore and I was resentful about doing all the work. When my son left home, that Fall after he had graduated, I didn't even feel like doing anything for the holidays. I don't miss doing all the work and set-up. When people tell me how busy crazy they are this time of year, the last thing they want to hear is me tell them, it is their choice to do this, so WTF, suck it up. You don't have to do anything if you trully don't want to. You may feel guilted into it, but that is your own doing. I am not negative about Christmas. I am a joyful person, I just don't need a holiday or what-not to let me share my joy and happiness.

As far a dysfunctional goes, doesn't everyone have some sort of baggage/issues to bring along. It also happens, that emotions/stress happen, rears it head so to speak around the holidays. Being sad comes with holidays for alot of people, which is sad in itself. I kind of like not being expected to be somewhere at a certain, and to have to bring something, food or otherwise. If you want to get together with family, do so whenever you want to. One shouldn't be required to get together during the holidays because it is the "normal" action to do so. I don't think that there is any such things as "normal" anyway.

I sure feel that I got up there on my "shout out" soapbox. I actually feel better expressing myself.

As far as what is going on today. I will probably have to make myself shower and wash my hair. Why, this early because next Thursday I have a hair coloring appointment. My hair colorist has always said to me, the longer you can go without washing your hair before a coloring the better. Color adheres better to dirtier hair she has told me. So I figure 6 days is good enough.

Boy, are we in for our first major snow storm of this Winter. Yesterday we got snow, then ice pellets. I went out twice yesterday to shovel the decks off and sidewalk. It was darn cold. We are going to get hit hard here they said, they are preparing us already. Well my husband works Saturday and Sunday night. It will be a tough go on the roads around here. He works nights, so the drive usually sucks because of the roads. The plows don't get back here to plow for awhile. I will work at keeping up the shoveling tomorrow and Sunday morning.

I am not expected anywhere for the Christmas holidays. Right now, I don't go many places being unemployed anyway. I am trying hard not to spend alot of money, just what is a necessary. I really don't have alot more to say. I am sure that I could go on babbling about the Christmas holidays, but I won't. I think, do what you want to do that brings you joy and happiness for others. Share your spirit and yourself with the people you want to and care about. I have figured out that I don't have to prove anything to anyone, just be true to myself and to be present in the moment. Be there for loved ones. Yup, that's it for now. Oh, yippee, it is double digit day. Photobucket

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville