Navigate
Index
Archives
Me
Profile
Favorites
aryssa90
crazy6mofo9
author1981
murder
cherrygash
leotard
latebrat
stormysky
hitch-hike
theshivers
eatmorepizza
i-am-jack
tomatogirl
dangerspouse
college-kid
whystinger
nineofswords
integrating
jarofporter
glorycloud
toejam
linguafranca
life-my-way
jimbostaxi
fullmoon
thruthecrowd
whyme63
misfitstray
cocoabean
curious-me
in19seconds

A Critter Adventure...... (2009-10-11 - 6:22 a.m.)

I went out to my car to go to work on Friday morning and it works, but the fan didn't work, ok the fan would work, but it was making a loud noise. I have heard that noise before, around this time of year. So off I go to work, no heat in car, and it was cold here, and still is. I get to work, numb fingers and all. I work with a woman whose husband and his brother own an auto repair shop, I think the best in town by the way. I call him and he says that they are super busy, but he will run over, get my car, check it out, because we know what is going on with the fan. He said later that he forgot to write it down. If you live in the woods, and it is around this time of year, you know, that your car really isn't falling apart. Your car has become a housing facility for mice or chipmunks. Usually mice. So I wait all day for him to come in and get my keys. He did tell me over the phone, that if he didn't make it, to stop over after work at 4:30pm ish. They work until 5:30pm. So I ended up having to go over there. He begins the process of getting to the car's fan area, which is up towards the windshield. He reaches in and pulls out this whole mass of fibers with acorns in in. I thought wow, I wonder how long they were working on making that. So he super vaccums it all out. Then he gets that blow air thingy out and uses that. He cleans it all out super good. Puts it all back together. He says no charge, but I give him a $20.00 just so he and his wife(my co-worker) can go and get at least one drink apiece. It sounded like he had a hectic day also. So I am so pleased as I am driving home. I have warmth and a fan that blows hot air around. So I get home, pull into the garage, and I start thinking....hmmmmmmmmm I wonder how long I will be able to run the fan? I said to my husband, that maybe on Saturday we can go for a ride to Wisconsin Rapids, I haven't been to Wal-Mart since I think in July, maybe even June, I can't remember. He said sure, we will see, it all depends if my body is having a pretty good day. Well, it was and around noon we left. We get into my car and I back out, and I turn on the fan to get some heat in the car. Wow, that noise is loud. So I guess I got my answer on that one. We drove back into the garage and took his car. In less than 12 hours the critters found more fibers to make a nest, wow is all I thought, no sleep for them, and why would they want a traveling home for god's sake. The nest he took out on Friday late afternoon I figured out later was from a mophead that I located in the garage and threw out. My husband had put the mophead in the garage, now isn't that dumb. I took a picture of it on Friday on my cell phone, but I don't know how the heck to download it to Photobucket to put it here. Picture a yarn ball rolled up size, sort of, only fluffed out with acorns and woodsy like stuff in it. So anyhoo, now on Monday I get to drive to work again, I will be very cold again, but I don't even want to run the fan on low because I don't want a fire to break out. This yearly occurence doesn't phase me or the critters, it just makes the changing of the seasons more interesting, plus it gives me something to write about. Now as an aside, isn't it funny, I really like the "House Mouse" rubber stamp line. I have alot of "House Mouse" rubber stamps. I send people I know, daily squeaks, they are called from the "House Mouse" web site. I know apparently mice in my car fan doesn't bother me as much as I once thought. The critters are so cute, now aren't they? Photobucket

GO - SWIMMING

Contact
Notes
Thanks
dland
Links
Farmville